Archive for October 30, 2015

No Matter the Wreckage

Posted: October 30, 2015 in Books
Tags: , , ,

Because there’s nothing more beautiful than the way the ocean refuses to stop kissing the shoreline, no matter how many times it’s sent away.

nmtwreckage

No Matter The Wreckage is a collection of poems by Sarak Kay. Poems which are supposed to be spoken and not expected to rhyme… The author, Sarah Kay, is a spoken word poet and is amazing in what she does…

Her poems are not meant to rhyme but touch your heart by sheer honesty to express…
I use poetry to help me work through what I don’t understand‘,she says… Started at an early age of fourteen, this book recollects her poetry from different phases and moods of life…

From talking about a ‘Subway‘ to ‘Postcards‘ to ‘Toothbrush to Bicycle tyre‘ to ‘Brother‘ to ‘Private parts‘, she has so much to say on any and everything under the sun…

Careful.
Don’t sit there.
You might knock over the pile of confidence I took all day to stack.

Like the author says ‘its never the same poem at any given time and place‘ when asked on what she likes sharing the most; it is hard to pick favorites from the book… After her most famous poem ‘B‘ or ‘If I should have a daughter..’ as remembered fondly from TED 2011 and having written about ‘The Type‘ in the blog post; I want to not miss ‘Something we don’t talk about‘ written very interestingly…

How many times I said yes
How many times I said yes and yes and yes
Because it was what you wanted to hear
And what I wanted you to hear
And what I wanted to want

I don’t want to end up writing about each poem, all I say the poems are so close to everyday life, that, they will remind you of something in your life; be it your favorite teacher, your love or even your hands ! It’s a must have for your shelf and the kinds we like to gift to friends…